Startlist – 2015 Totnes Vire

With less than two weeks until the biggest race in the South West calendar commences, Mid Devon CC are proud to announce the line up of top level domestic riders that have entered the 3 stage event.

The race is sponsored by the Dartmoor Classic Cyclosportive. Chairman of this event’s committee, Guy Langworthy said “The Dartmoor Classic is extremely pleased to be sponsoring the 2015 Totnes Vire. The Dartmoor Classic is owned and run by the Mid Devon CC and this sponsorship is a fine example of the collaboration within the cycling community”.

This year brings the race back up to the “National A” standard achieved in the 1980s when it was the biggest in England – it was in the years when there was no Tour of Britain!

DC AW LogoWord B FC Blk Ppl

The weekend of 28th/29th March will see many of the top UCI/Elite teams do battle in Devon ahead of the first event in the Premier calendar the following week in Chorley

Stage Breakdown

  •  On Saturday morning Stage 1 is on the well tried and tested Avonwick 10 mile circuit. Its rolling 55 miles could result in any of the following possibilities – a lone breakaway (as in James Lewis NTFO 2014); small groups separated by a few seconds or a mass bunch sprint for the line.
  •  In the afternoon the action moves to the closed circuit Torbay Velopark for 75 minutes of all out Crit racing.
  •  Sunday’s stage at Bovey Tracey will certainly be an exciting and hilly finale.  The race will cover 3 laps from the HQ onto the Teign Valley circuit. The main move could well come in the last 4 miles as the race climbs up to the top of Haytor and the same finish line as for the 2013 Tour of Britain.

The line up sees ex Mid Devon CC rider/former winner and 2014 Star Trophy winner Yanto Barker with his newly formed One Pro Cycling coming back to Devon roads with a strong team. Included are another MDCC protégé and exciting talent Tom Baylis as well as Cornish sprinter Chris Opie and former winner Marcin Bialoblocki


There is plenty of local interest too. SW Based Elite team Velosure Starley Primal bring a strong squad including Exeter based James Davey whose knowledge of the local roads will surely be invaluable. Exeter Uni/Bikeshed have Andrew Feather – another impressive local rider.  Mid Devon CC have experienced veteran Andrew Hitchens who continues to excel year on year.  Exeter Wheelers and Mineheads Tanks Direct also bring strong teams into the mix


UCI Continental team NTFO are represented with last year’s winner James “Tank” Lewis supported by Ireland’s Eddy Dunbar, an upcoming young rider who will be expected to animate the race on the hilly terrain as he has been so far this season


Raleigh – GAC bring Evan Oliphant a rider who always performs well in the early season, as well as  “Superman” Ian Wilkinson and another Cornish rider Steve Lampier. Steve knows the Haytor climb well and was in the mix with the front group at the 2013 ToB finish

Other riders of interest are Will Bjergfelt  and Dan Fleeman from SportGrub KUOTA. Will has been going well so far this season and Dan is an ex World Tour Pro who enjoys challenging parcours

Saturday sees a series of Support races at Torbays Velopark for Women, Youths and lower category riders which will take place before Stage 2 of the main race. These are promoted by Cycle Sport South Hams.  The Velopark provides an excellent opportunity to view the racing and supporters are encouraged to come along and be part of a fantastic weekend. Sundays stage will provide some excellent vantage points  obviously the Haytor summit finish as well as the “Primes” in Bovey Tracey itself.

With so many strong squads and such a challenging route the permutations are endless. Looking at the entries you would think that the overall winner would have to come from one of the top 4 teams. It will be an epic race, of that there is no doubt!


No. First Name Last Name Club / Team Name

1 Andrew Hitchens Mid Devon CC
2 Andrew Feather Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
3 Oscar Hutchings Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
4 Peter Medhurst Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
5 Lawrence Carpenter Catford CC Equipe/Banks
6 Ben Chapman Catford CC Equipe/Banks
7 Christopher Fennell Catford CC Equipe/Banks
8 Harry Godding Catford CC Equipe/Banks
9 Sebastian Baylis Champion System VCUK Racing Team
10 Malcolm Dixon Dream Cycling Race Team
11 Craig Wallduck Dream Cycling Race Team
12 Tom Ilett Dream Cycling Race Team
13 George Fowler Easton Ritte
14 Bevan Humphreys Easton Ritte
15 Anthony Moye Easton Ritte
16 Alexander Murison Easton Ritte
17 Ioannis Spanopoulos Easton Ritte
18 Sam Birkinshaw Exeter Wheelers
19 Jack Ibbotson Exeter Wheelers
20 John Nye Exeter Wheelers
21 Richard Hepworth Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT
22 Thomas Bustard Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT
23 Nathan Edmondson Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric RT
24 Dante Carpenter JLT Condor
25 Felix English JLT Condor
26 Luke Grivell-Mellor JLT Condor
27 Richard Lang JLT Condor
28 Edward Laverack JLT Condor
29 Joseph Moses JLT Condor
30 Harry Tanfield JLT Condor
31 Dale Appleby NFTO
32 Edmund Bradbury NFTO
33 Eddie Dunbar NFTO
34 Justin Hoy NFTO
35 James Lewis NFTO
36 Yanto Barker One Pro Cycling
37 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling
38 Marcin Bialoblocki One Pro Cycling
39 George Harper One Pro Cycling
40 Jonathan Mould One Pro Cycling
41 Chris Opie One Pro Cycling
42 Will Fox Pedal Heaven RT
43 Gruffudd Lewis Pedal Heaven RT
44 Robert Moore Pedal Heaven RT
45 Max Stedman Pedal Heaven RT
46 Mitchell Webber Pedal Heaven RT
47 Stephen Williams Pedal Heaven RT
48 Sol Warwick Penzance Wheelers
No. First Name Last Name Club / Team Name
4 9 Calvin Beneke Raleigh GAC
50 Karol Domagalski Raleigh GAC
51 Steve Lampier Raleigh GAC
52 Matti Manninen Raleigh GAC
53 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC
54 Ian Wilkinson Raleigh GAC
55 Lee Davis Ride 24/7
56 Colin Parry Ride 24/7
57 William Bjergfelt SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
58 Dan Fleeman SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
59 Dexter Gardias SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
60 Oliver Maxwell SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
61 Ben Stockdale SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team
62 Graham Collins Tanks Direct Cycling
63 Mark Lees Tanks Direct Cycling
64 Kelvin Price Tanks Direct Cycling
65 Joseph Clark Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
66 Russell Falder Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
67 Alastair Hepworth Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
68 Ashley Proctor Team Envelopemaster/Bikeboxalan
69 Henry Hunter Team Moda-Anon
70 Joshua Lawless Team Moda-Anon
71 Andrew Turner Team Moda-Anon
72 Zack Williamson Team Moda-Anon
73 Joshua Burns Velosure Starley Primal
74 Cordier Marius Velosure Starley Primal
75 James Davey Velosure Starley Primal
76 Adrià Moreno Sala Velosure Starley Primal
77 Joseph Petrowski Velosure Starley Primal
78 Sam Boast Wheelbase Altura MGD
79 Ben Davis Wheelbase Altura MGD
80 Callum Grieve Wheelbase Altura MGD


81 Kris Jasper Private member
82 Joshua Jones Bikeshed – Exeter Uni
83 Stephen Bradbury Velosure Starley Primal
84 Richard Mardle NFTO
85 Thomas Bowering Ride 24/7
86 Chris Shakya Exeter Wheelers

Winners since 2006

2006    Ben Luckwell

2007    Marcin Bialoblocki

2008    John Tiernan-Locke

2009    Will Bjergfelt

2010    Yanto Barker

2011    James McLaughlin

2012    Tommy Bustard – no final stage as Devon was ‘washed out’

2013    Richard Handley

2014    James Lewis

The full race manual with all the details can be downloaded below

>Totnes Vire 2015 Race Manual<

Similar Posts