2019 Totnes Vire – Race Report

The smallest winning margin in the 45-year history of the race – three-tenths of a
second – saw Truro’s Steve Lampier lift his second Totnes-Vire Two-Day title for
Cornwall’s Saint Piran team.

Credit: St Piran

Former British Elite Series pro champion Lampier, 35, pipped Peter Kibble of the
Wales Racing Academy in the opening stage time-trial up the climb of Haytor, and it
was a good job that organisers Mid-Devon CC had good timing equipment on hand.
Lampier completed the three-mile ascent in 12 mins 41.42 seconds to Kibble’s

“When I heard my time, I didn’t think I had done enough,” said Lampier, who also
won the Totnes-Vire in 2015 when the race’s final stage finished on Haytor in
appalling weather.
“I had wanted to finish in the top-five and then attack from there. It’s always nice to
lead, but then we had to defend it.”

06/04/2019 2019 TOTNES-VIRE NATIONAL “B” STAGE RACE. Stage Two at Torbay Velopark, Clennon Valley, Paignton, Stage one winner and Yellow jersey Steve Lampier – Saint Piran. Credit – Andy Styles

Lampier made sure he was always near the front of the high-speed Velopark race,
won in a bunch sprint by another former Totnes-Vire winner, Reading’s Stephen
Bradbury of the SwiftCarbon Racing Team.

06/04/2019 2019 TOTNES-VIRE NATIONAL “B” STAGE RACE. Stage Two at Torbay Velopark, Clennon Valley, Paignton, Stage Two winner Stephen Bradbury – SwiftCarbon Pro Cycling. Credit; Andy Styles

Dangerman Bradbury attacked early in the final stage, taking 18-year-old junior
George Mills-Keeling (Bridgnorth CC) with him, and the pair led by more than 90
seconds at one point.

But Lampier had his Saint Piran men at the front of the peloton, and it was recently-
crowned British eRacing champion Cameron Jeffers and Jake Alderman who finally
reeled the leaders in on the last of seven laps.

Credit: Chris Halls

Joe Sutton (Richardsons-Trek) won the bunch sprint for stage victory, but Lampier
was not far behind and Kibble, who has been in good form in UK races this season,
simply could not shift him from the leader’s jersey.

Credit: Graham Morgan

It was a second successive Saint Piran win in the race, after Will Harper’s victory last
“We always target the biggest Westcountry races,” said Lampier after Stage Three.
“We used up a couple of our younger lads, Alex Platt and Joe Healey, on the front,
and then Cameron and Jake took over on the last couple of laps – the whole team
did a great job for me.”

Credit: Graham Morgan

Lampier and his team now head for Cleveland’s Klondike Grand Prix next Sunday.
The Mid-Devon club is already making plans for the 2020 Totnes-Vire, which is
expected to return to the spectacular and hilly countryside of the South Hams for the
final stage.

Credit: Chris Halls

The bunch heading out of Avonwick

Credit: Chris Halls

Local rider George Pym from Madison Genesis leads the bunch from the Welsh Racing Academy.

Credit Guy Townsend
PositionFirst nameLast nameTeamTime
1SteveLampierSaint Piran04:05:05
2PeterKibbleWales Racing Academy04:05:05
3SamLindsay73Degrees CC04:05:13
4TomNancarrowNopinz Symec Race Team04:05:26
5ArchieCrossTeam B38 / Cycles In Motion04:05:29
6ShaunCookNopinz Symec Race Team04:05:30
7MarcinBialoblockiNopinz Symec Race Team04:05:30
8CameronBiddleMorvelo Basso04:05:33
9BradleySymondsTeam PB Performance04:05:36
9GeorgePymMadison Genesis04:05:36
11OscarHutchingsTeam Tor 2000 KALAS04:05:38
13GeorgeMills-KeelingCycle Club Bridgnorth RWG04:05:45
14GeorgeSmithNopinz Symec Race Team04:05:50
15JosephSuttonRichardsons-Trek RT04:05:53
16PeterCockerRichardsons-Trek RT04:05:54
17JackFreemanMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT04:05:56
19RupertGrahamSpirit Tifosi Racing Team04:06:09

Team prize: Nopinz Symec Race Team

Credit: Chris Halls
Stage 1Haytor TT
1SteveLampierSaint Piran12.42
2PeterKibbleWales Racing Academy12.42
3SamLindsay73Degrees CC12.50
4JudeTaylorTeam B38 / Cycles In Motion12.56
5TomNancarrowNopinz Symec Race Team13.03
6ArchieCrossTeam B38 / Cycles In Motion13.06
7ShaunCookNopinz Symec Race Team13.07
7MarcinBialoblockiNopinz Symec Race Team13.07
9CameronBiddleMorvelo Basso13.10
10BradleySymondsTeam PB Performance13.13
11OscarHutchingsTeam Tor 2000 KALAS13.15
13GeorgePymMadison Genesis13.18
14GeorgeMills-KeelingCycle Club Bridgnorth RWG13.22
15GeorgeSmithNopinz Symec Race Team13.27
16JosephSuttonRichardsons-Trek RT13.30
17PeterCockerRichardsons-Trek RT13.31
18JackFreemanMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RT13.33
19JamesHillTeam PB Performance13.34
20ThomasTownsendHigh Wycombe Cycling Club13.36
06/04/2019 Totnes Vire 2019, Stage one. Marcin Bialoblocki – Nopinz Symec Race Team. Credit Andy Styles
Stage 2Velopark Criterium
1StephenBradburySwiftCarbon Pro Cycling1:09:31
2JoshuaPriceWales Racing AcademyST
3GeorgePymMadison GenesisST
4SteveLampierSaint PiranST
5MarcinBialoblockiNopinz Symec Race TeamST
6WilliamRobertsWales Racing AcademyST
7PeterCockerRichardsons-Trek RTST
8MaxMoylesTeam Tor 2000 KALASST
9JosephSuttonRichardsons-Trek RTST
10PeterKibbleWales Racing AcademyST
11BradleySymondsTeam PB PerformanceST
12JackFreemanMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RTST
13MatthewWebsterTAAP CerveloST
14DanielMcDermottFTR MilltagST
15CameronBiddleMorvelo BassoST
16ThomasDayGiant Cycling Club – Halo FilmsST
17MatthewKingTeam PB PerformanceST
18TomNancarrowNopinz Symec Race TeamST
20LukeCraddockTAAP CerveloST
Credit: Guy Townsend
Stage 3 Road Race
1JosephSuttonRichardsons-Trek RT2:42:52
2GeorgeFowlerNopinz Symec Race TeamST
3JoshuaPriceWales Racing AcademyST
5PeterCockerRichardsons-Trek RTST
6DanielMcDermottFTR MilltagST
7CameronBiddleMorvelo BassoST
8WilliamRobertsWales Racing AcademyST
9BradleySymondsTeam PB PerformanceST
10SteveLampierSaint PiranST
11JackFreemanMeudon Pedal Heaven Le Col RTST
12GeorgePymMadison GenesisST
13PeterKibbleWales Racing AcademyST
15JosephBeckingsaleWales Racing AcademyST
16SamLindsay73Degrees CCST
17TomNancarrowNopinz Symec Race TeamST
18AndrewKirby73Degrees CCST
19GeorgeClarkSpirit Tifosi Racing TeamST
20ShaunCookNopinz Symec Race TeamST
Credit: Chris Halls

Writing Credit: David Thomas

Mid Devon CC extends its thanks to its members and helpers, the SW NEG, Accredited Marshals and SWRWG for their support.

06/04/2019 Totnes Vire 2019, Stage one. Tristan Davies – Mid Devon CC. Photo Credit Andy Styles