Primavera 2024

IT’S ALWAYS sweet when a well-laid plan comes to fruition, and that was certainly the case on a
memorable day for the Okehampton Cycling Club on ‘home’ territory at the Primavera Road Race.

Oke CC duo Jon Hobbs and Lloyd Copp and Exeter Wheelers training mate Tristan Kelsall-Spurr were all seeded in the first group away in the annual curtain-raising 44-mile Mid-Devon CC promotion based at nearby Hatherleigh. They had an eight-minute start on the ‘scratch’ group, and Copp revealed: “We thought if we really worked together, we might stay away.
“It’s something we talked about for weeks, but saying it is one thing, doing it is another.
“Luckily, each of us was strong at the right times, and we managed to pull it off.”

Hobbs pipped Copp on the line in one hour 44mins 45secs, with Kelsall-Spurr three seconds away in third place. The mild conditions saw them finish more than five minutes faster than the 2023 edition. The trio were just over a minute clear of a 14-man chasing group which included former national junior hill climb and British Universities RR champion George Kimber (Spirit TBW Stuart Hall Racing) and ex-Team Raleigh and Saint Piran star Steve Lampier (Kernow RT).
Fourth was Tom Bowden (Reflex Racing), the first Junior was 5th-placed Nick Makin of MDCC and
Kimber was sixth. Eve Newton (Army CU) was the first Lady (2.05.13).

The MDCC’s next major promotion is the 50th Anniversary Totnes-Vire 2-Day stage race over the May 25/26 weekend. The four stages include what promises to be a short, sharp and spectacular half-mile Sunday morning TT up Torquay’s Oddicombe Hill as Stage Three.

PositionRider NumberFirst NameLast NameClubTimeJunior
15JonathanHobbsOkehampton Cycle Club01:44:45
23LloydCoppOkehampton Cycle Clubst
36TristanKelsall-SpurrExeter Wheelers@ + 3secs
461ThomasBowdenReflex Racing@ 1 min 5 secs
565NickMakinMid Devon CCstJ
683GeorgeKimberSpirit TBW Stuart Hall Cyclingst
760DylanSageCannibal B Victoriousst
841EwanDixtrainSharp Development TeamstJ
1031IanCullenMid Devon CCst
1150GeorgeWatchMid Devon CCstJ
1244ThomasGardnerUniversity of Exeter Cycling Clubst
1366BenMeekMid Devon CCstJ
1468MathysVenterCardiff Ajax CCstJ
1628ShaunDaveyMid Devon CCst
1747AbrahamReidDurham University Cycling Clubst
1762IwanClarkTeam Pau@ 1 min 7 secsJ
1864PiersMahnHalesowen A & CC@ 1min 30 secs
1981AlistairGardnerVelo Club Venta@ 1min 58 secsJ
2189OliverWadeKSV Deerlijk VZW@ 2 mins 3 secsJ
2280TravisBramleyPlymouth Corinthian CCst
2384SteveLampierKernow Racing Team@ 2 mins 24 secs
2449HarveyThomasSteele Davis Via Roma@ 2 mins 31 secs
2530CoreyBaleBGE@ 3mins 30 secs
2648JosephStaddonArmy Cycling Unionst
2720EdAyresReflex Racingst
2891LukeWyattCardif Ajax CCst
2987RyuRoberts HayamizuHalesowen A & CCstJ
3025NigelPolkinghorneDuchy Velo@ 3mins 38 secs
3182ReubenHealTeam Tor 2000 Kalas@ 3mins 44 secs
3242ThomasDobsonArmy Cycling Union@ 3mins 54 secs
3317JamesKelly@ 5 mins 7 secs
3418HamishJohnstoneSwansea Uni@ 7 mins 22 secs
3569JamesWilliamsReflex Racing@ 9 mins 2 secs
3745MichaelHooper05/03@ 9 mins 20 secs
3812WilliamScaplehorn@ 15 mins 5 secs
3926MichaelSmithPlymouth Corinthian CCst
4023IanGaffneyMid Devon CCst
4129AndrewHitchensMid Devon CC@ 20 mins 28 secs
429EveNewtonArmy Cycling Unionst
4363JasonKettleMid Devon CC@ 21 mins 54 secs
4416BenZissimos@ 23 mins 14 secs
451PaulBroomSomerset Road Clubst
4711CatrionaRossBridport CCst
4821Chun YinChoist

Similar Posts