Race Report – Mid Devon Hilly TT – Good Friday

14th April saw the annual Good Friday Hilly TT over the Teign Valley circuit. This event is much loved by club members as the course takes in many of our local roads. It’s a true roadman’s circuit and a real test of power and bike handling ability.

This year saw a strong contingent including last years winner and former Mid Devon CC rider Tom Baylis from One Pro Cycling as well as current Mid Devon CC rising stars Matt Langworthy and Harrison Wood. The event saw near perfect conditions dry with little wind.

1st year Junior Harrison came in 3rd on the day with an outstanding ride. His thoughts are below. 2nd was Matt who briefly held the course record before Tom came in 1.20 secs quicker


Today was my second tt of the season and I was keen to give it a good bash! I had recently been over in Majorca on a training camp which consisted of a big 6 days of training including some hard efforts up Puig Major and Sa Calobra with the HMT junior team. All of which were a great experience. This however left me slightly apprehensive to how I would feel. Would I feel incredible or would I feel sluggish. I felt in the middle to be honest.

I started off steady at around my FTP and then built into the first climb out of Bovey pushing a bit harder towards the top and then holding on over the top and returning to FTP on the downhill section. I had repeated this all the way to the bottom of Doccombe. I pushed on over Doccombe as it realised I could gain time on my rivals due to being light. This worked and I then descended fairly fast but not on the limit! I then pushed as hard as I could back down the valley but not overcooking it as it was still a good distance to go I turned left onto the final climb and had a tiny bit left so I completely emptied it and crossed the line in 55.52 which was a very pleasing 7 minutes quicker than my previous attempt last yea!

I returned to HQ and I was in 1st position until Matt decided to de thrown me with a cracking 52.31 before then being dethroned himself by Tom Baylis from One Pro who absolutely flew round the course in 51.11. Fair play to both of them This left me in 3rd place and 1st Junior so I was very happy with my ride I’d like to thank mum for being my soigneur on the day, Conrad for getting a good block in me in Majorca and over the winter and finally all of MDCC for the continued support with marshalling and running the event. It’s greatly appreciated

1 Thomas Baylis One Pro cycling Ltd 51:11:00
2 Matt Langworthy Mid Devon CC 52:31:00
3 Harrison Wood Mid Devon CC 55:42:00
4 philip bray Plymouth Corinthian CC 56:20:00
5 George Kimber CS Dynamo 57:22:00
6 Lee Sanderson Mid Devon CC 58:11:00
7 Ian Cullen Mid Devon CC 58:35:00
8 Harry Edney NOPINZ 58:36:00
9 Steven Sage southfork racing.co.uk 58:37:00
10 David Johnson Mid Devon CC 58:57:00
11 Josh Coyne Okehampton CC 59:07:00
12 William Barr University of Bristol Cycling Club (UOBCC) 59:21:00
13 Donald Brooks Mid Devon CC 59:27:00
14 Louie Priddle Mid Devon CC 59:35:00
15 James Cartlidge Plymouth Corinthian CC 59:40:00
16 Miles Earl Plymouth Corinthian CC 59:54:00
17 Jason Kettle Mid Devon CC 59:54:00
18 richard easton Pure Endurance 59:56:00
19 Paul Caton TMG Horizon Cycling Team 01:01:07
20 Owen Prior Exeter Whs CC 01:01:29
21 Mark Sanders Mid Devon CC 01:01:45
22 simon medlyn Mid Devon CC 01:02:43
23 Steven Birch Exeter Whs CC 01:03:30
24 Kevin Digby Thames Velo 01:04:21
25 James Stevenson Mid Devon CC 01:04:34
26 Nick Tippett Plymouth Triathlon Club 01:04:34
27 Tim Prowse Mid Devon CC 01:04:40
28 Robert McHale Plymouth Triathlon Club 01:05:02
29 Robert Cartlidge Plymouth Corinthian CC 01:05:14
30 Natalie Grinczer Team WNT Pro Cycling 01:05:26
31 Ian Deakin Mid Devon CC 01:05:59
32 Stewart Dunn Mid Devon CC 01:06:20
33 Andrew Banfield Plymouth Corinthian CC 01:06:29
34 martin page Penzance Wheelers CC 01:06:55
35 Neil Castree Exeter Triathlon Club 01:07:22
36 IAN DABBS Mid Devon CC 01:07:58
37 Zoe Betteridge southfork racing.co.uk 01:08:00
38 Darin Dodd Mid Devon CC 01:08:09
39 Daniel Worth Tavistock Whs CC 01:08:09
40 Rebecca Cornwell Taw Velo 01:08:54
41 Robert Hayman Sid Valley CC 01:09:10
42 Harriet Langworthy Mid Devon CC 01:09:24
43 John Scanlan Mid Devon CC 01:09:32
44 Nigel Winchester Sid Valley CC 01:09:43
45 Tim Arkell Wolverhampton Wheelers Cycling Club 01:09:55
46 Christopher Jones Mid Devon CC 01:10:40
47 Brian Parry Team Swindon Cycles 01:11:12
48 Les Coulman Exeter Whs CC 01:13:24
49 Catherine Hilton Sid Valley CC 01:13:31
50 Richard Perriss Mid Devon CC 01:13:42

Similar Posts